Are you ever ready?

Dear Delilah,

I’m terrified. I don’t know how to make this transition into motherhood. The time is nearing when you’re going to make your arrival & no article or pinterest blog can help me now. Up to this point caring for you has only required me to care for myself. How do I know what to do? I find comfort in the fact that mothers have been doing this quite literally since the beginning of mankind. Does every mother feel this way? Forgive me when I’m irritated with you for keeping me up for days & when I want to pull my hair out because you won’t stop crying & I’ve tried everything. I promise I’ll do the best I can. I’ve never been given a bigger responsibility than to raise up a human being. As you’re growing up & experiencing things for the first time, remember it’s a first for me too. We’re learning together. Forgive me when I’m too hard on you, or too much of a pushover. Forgive me when I’m overly protective, I promise your skinned knee will probably hurt me more than it hurts you. This is going to be one heck of a ride but I promise I’ll be the best I can be, for you.

Author: dreamingofdelilah

My journey of becoming a mother & the adventures that follow.

Leave a Reply

